Please allow javascripts to see this page correctly
X close menu

2012 Winners

back to previous page
The winners of the 2012 Canterbury Heritage Awards were announced at an Awards Ceremony held last night at St Andrew’s at Rangi Ruru.

The Canterbury Heritage Awards recognise excellence in heritage retention and conservation, heritage tourism and education within the public and private sector and promotes the values of best practice heritage retention and conservation to the wider community.

Winners of each category include:
Heritage Management Services Heritage Retention Award - Trinity Congregational Church (Trinity Limited).
Fortis Construction Ltd Heritage Restoration Award - Whites Accommodation House/Hotel Restoration Project (Sugrue Partnership).
Christchurch & Canterbury Tourism Heritage Tourism Award – Okains Bay Maori and Colonial Museum
Christchurch Heritage Trust Heritage Champion Award – Peter Beaven
The Press Heritage Landscape Award – Otahuna Lodge
Ceres NZ Seismic Award – Equal winners included the Old Government Building (OGB Suites) at Heritage Christchurch (Heritage Hotel Christchurch), and The Malthouse (Malthouse Theatre Trust).
Supreme Award - Trinity Congregational Church (Trinity Limited).

The judging panel for the awards was chaired by Anna Crighton and included international heritage expert Jim Gard’ner from Heritage Victoria, Jasper van der Lingen (Sheppard & Rout Architects Ltd), Di Lucas (Lucas Associates), Dr Terry Ryan (Director, Whakapapa NgaiTahu  Unit of te Runanga-o-NgaiTahu), Grant Wilkinson (Ruamoko Solutions) and Shonagh Kenderdine (New Zealand Historic Places Trust).

Category winners were presented with a Neil Dawson designed trophy in recognition of their achievement in front of an audience of Christchurch heritage advocates.

“The Awards which celebrate and recognise all finalists and winners for 2012, are, individually and collectively, a reminder of how much we appreciate as a community our cultural past” commented Christchurch Heritage Awards Charitable Trust Chair, Anna Crighton.
Webdesign & Hosting by BECK & CAUL.