Please allow javascripts to see this page correctly


The Christchurch Heritage Awards Charitable Trust celebrated its 10th anniversary in June 2021.  Over this time the Trust, in conjunction with its family of sponsors and supporters, has witnessed outstanding success of this biennial event. Each event attracted a diverse and exciting range of entries from cabins to mansions, from small to large commercial and public buildings, from rural to urban structures and country houses and the best of the best new builds as heritage of the future. The events were occasions where networking of like-minded heritage advocates and professionals from around Canterbury came together in celebration of this important social event.

The Awards were initiated by myself in 2010 and have been run as a not for profit trust.  Their success can be attributed to invaluable sponsorship from several key businesses and organisations over the past 12 years. As the awards are totally reliant on sponsorship it has been increasingly difficult to continue without it.  Therefore, the decision has been made to pause the awards for the time being. We are deeply appreciative of the support our previous sponsors have shown and understand entirely that in some cases their time has come to stand aside for others to step up and show the support required to run future awards.

This means a long-term pause for the Canterbury Heritage Awards, as we, the trustees, take time to re-think and re-imagine the awards in a manner that enables a sustainable future and of recognising those who have contributed to the protection and future of historic heritage in Canterbury.

Expressions of interest to support a future event as a key sponsor are invited. Please call Geoff Bone (Event Convener) on 0274 858 185 if you wish to know more.

So, in the meantime, on behalf of the trustees, keep up the good work.  You have all either individually or collectively been complicit in keeping our history alive, to be remembered and cherished.

With kind regards
Dame Anna Crighton
DNZM, QSO, JP, PhD(Otago)

September 2022

X close menu

Entries open for 2018

back to previous page
Entries are now open for the Box 112 2018 Canterbury Heritage Awards. Organisers are encouraging all Canterbury individuals, organisations, and companies involved in heritage restoration, retention, promotion or tourism to submit an entry. The Awards are free to enter.

Chair of the Heritage Awards Trust Anna Crighton said that “the aftermath of the devastation of our heritage from both natural disaster and by man has resulted in some stunning restoration projects which deserve celebration for the survivors. The awards evening is an opportunity for heritage visionaries and enthusiasts to come together, network and celebrate our cultural heritage”.

The biennial Awards were first held in 2010 and have since evolved to reflect the changing heritage landscape of Christchurch. In particular, the Wilkie + Bruce Future Heritage Award, recognises a new building showing sensitivity to the streetscape and landscape and one which will secure a cultural legacy for the future. Last year the new Miles Warren building at Christ’s College impressed judges and took out the top spot in that category. Despite being entirely contemporary in form, the judges noted that the building was designed to sit with grace in the surrounding heritage environment by making subtle references to the historic College buildings.

“As Christchurch, especially in the centre, has been built almost out of recognition the existing heritage and the design of our new builds have become increasingly more significant,”said Anna Crighton.

There are seven Award Categories in 2018: Wilkie + Bruce Future Heritage Award, Ceres NZ Seismic Award, Heritage New Zealand Outstanding Contribution to Heritage, Continental Catering Heritage Tourism Award, Mapei Public Realm Saved and Restored, Simon Construction Domestic Saved and Restored and the Christchurch Heritage Trust Supreme Award (judged from all category winners).

In 2016 the Supreme Award went to the Arts Centre of Christchurch’s Great Hall, which had been officially re-opened only days before the Awards Ceremony.

The Right Honourable Helen Clark ONZ, former head of the United Nations Development Programme, and former Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage continues as Patron of the Awards. The independent judging panel for 2018 is chaired by architect Tim Nees Chair of the Canterbury Branch of the New Zealand Institute of Architects and includes Andrew Coleman Chief Executive of Heritage New Zealand, Ian Bowman Conservation Architect, and Trustee Jenny May. The Category Award Trophies and the Supreme Award Trophies are designed by prominent New Zealand sculptor Neil Dawson.

Entry forms are available to download at the new website: Organisations and individuals are also encouraged to contact the Award Convenors to nominate heritage projects or organisations. Award entries close on 06 April and the 2018 Heritage Awards Ceremony will be held in the Isaac Theatre Royal on Friday 15 June 2018. A Heritage Lecture, sponsored by the Warren Trust, will also take place in the Isaac Theatre Royal on Thursday 14 June. Speakers to be announced.
Webdesign & Hosting by BECK & CAUL.