Please allow javascripts to see this page correctly
X close menu

2016 Finalists Announced

back to previous page
After receiving nearly 80 entries for the biennial Canterbury Heritage Awards, a five-strong judging panel has selected 35 finalists to progress through to the Awards Ceremony on 9 June. Category Winners and the Supreme Overall Winner will be announced during the Ceremony in the newly restored Great Hall in the Christchurch Arts Centre.

Entries were received from a wide variety of projects, from walking tours and domestic dwellings to furniture restorations and public monuments. The chosen finalists hail from across Canterbury and include: Glentunnel Library, BNZ Building Kaiapoi, Riccarton Bush and House, Mona Vale Lodge and Shop 7 (a heritage information centre).

Dr Anna Crighton, Chair of the Christchurch Heritage Awards Charitable Trust, said that the judges were incredibly impressed with the standard of entries.

“The judging this year was extremely difficult. The jurors had to select finalists in six categories from nearly 80 entries. The standard of entries was higher than ever before and the variety, too, was indicative of just how heritage is so important to so many people in so many ways.

“Now that almost half of our built heritage has been demolished, appreciation of what remains is evident. The jurors agreed, without exception, that every entry was worthy in contributing to the character and streetscapes of our city and province.”

Dr Crighton said that the Awards were a great opportunity to honour heritage in different forms with six categories on offer to entrants.

“The entries for this year’s Heritage Awards afford the opportunity to recognise heritage in all its forms and to tell the stories that are so important to us as a community and a culture.”

Dr Crighton was joined on the judging panel by four other notable heritage experts: Jenny May, Director of Heritage Management Services; Tim Nees Architect in Residence, University of Canterbury and Chair of the Canterbury Branch of the New Zealand Institute of Architects; Sheila Watson Heritage New Zealand General Manager Southern Office; and Grant Wilkinson Structural Engineer, Ruamoko Solutions.

The Right Honourable Helen Clark, ONZ, and former Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage continues as Patron of the Awards in 2016. The Category Award Trophies and the Supreme Award Trophy are designed by prominent New Zealand sculptor Neil Dawson.

Tickets are on sale now for the 2016 Canterbury Heritage Awards Ceremony. Go to for more information.

2016 Canterbury Heritage Awards Finalists:

Domestic Saved and Restored: Acland House (Dalman Architecture), Banksia Cottage (Plane Tree Ltd), Chilcombe (Peter Berry and Joanne Mason), Mona Vale Lodge (Christchurch City Council), Our House (Home and Family Society), Racecourse Hill Homestead (Brian and Bernice Cribb).

Public Realm Saved and Restored: Armagh Street Bridge (Downer), Gaiety Theatre Akaroa (Christchurch City Council), Glentunnel Library (Selwyn District Council), Isaac Theatre Royal Recreation (Isaac Theatre Royal Charitable Foundation), Linwood Community Centre (Christchurch City Council), Mona Vale Lodge (Christchurch City Council), St Lukes Chapel (Christchurch City Mission), Former BNZ Building Kaiapoi (The Old Bank Ltd), Triumphal Arch (SCIRT).

Outstanding Contribution to Heritage: Canterbury Cultural Collections Recovery Centre Project (Air Force Museum), Christchurch Uncovered Website (Underground Overground Archaeology), Heritage Open Weekend (Hororata Community Trust), Heritage Week (Christchurch City Council), Isaac Theatre Royal Dome (Studio Carolina Izzo Limited), Provincial Chambers Building Furniture Restoration (Emily Fryer), Scaled Down (Richard Gardiner), Valuing our Heritage (Shop 7).

Seismic: Banks Peninsula War Memorial (Fulton Hogan), Edmonds Clock Tower (Christchurch City Council), Former Trinity Congregationist Church (Christchurch Heritage Ltd), Great Hall (Christchurch Arts Centre), Hare Memorial Library (Christ’s College Board of Governors), Jubilee Clock Tower (Christchurch City Council), Triumphal Arch (SCIRT).

Heritage Tourism: Christchurch City Heritage Walking Guide (Christchurch City Council), Curragh House (Friends of Ferrymead), Heritage of Hororata and Beyond (Hororata Community Trust), Isaac Theatre Royal Recreation (Isaac Theatre Royal Charitable Foundation), Riccarton Bush and House (John Radburn - Insight Unlimited), Shop 7 - Valuing Our Heritage (Ross Gray).

Future Heritage: Miles Warren Building (Christ’s College Board of Governors), Sheppard and Rout Offices (Sheppard and Rout Architects Ltd).


For more information:
Nicola Henderson
Marketing Manager TDM Events
03 343 2013
Webdesign & Hosting by BECK & CAUL.