Please allow javascripts to see this page correctly


The Christchurch Heritage Awards Charitable Trust celebrated its 10th anniversary in June 2021.  Over this time the Trust, in conjunction with its family of sponsors and supporters, has witnessed outstanding success of this biennial event. Each event attracted a diverse and exciting range of entries from cabins to mansions, from small to large commercial and public buildings, from rural to urban structures and country houses and the best of the best new builds as heritage of the future. The events were occasions where networking of like-minded heritage advocates and professionals from around Canterbury came together in celebration of this important social event.

The Awards were initiated by myself in 2010 and have been run as a not for profit trust.  Their success can be attributed to invaluable sponsorship from several key businesses and organisations over the past 12 years. As the awards are totally reliant on sponsorship it has been increasingly difficult to continue without it.  Therefore, the decision has been made to pause the awards for the time being. We are deeply appreciative of the support our previous sponsors have shown and understand entirely that in some cases their time has come to stand aside for others to step up and show the support required to run future awards.

This means a long-term pause for the Canterbury Heritage Awards, as we, the trustees, take time to re-think and re-imagine the awards in a manner that enables a sustainable future and of recognising those who have contributed to the protection and future of historic heritage in Canterbury.

Expressions of interest to support a future event as a key sponsor are invited. Please call Geoff Bone (Event Convener) on 0274 858 185 if you wish to know more.

So, in the meantime, on behalf of the trustees, keep up the good work.  You have all either individually or collectively been complicit in keeping our history alive, to be remembered and cherished.

With kind regards
Dame Anna Crighton
DNZM, QSO, JP, PhD(Otago)

September 2022

X close menu

2016 Entries Now Open

back to previous page
Entries are now open for the 2016 Canterbury Heritage Awards with brand new categories announced to reflect and celebrate Canterbury’s post-earthquake heritage landscape.

Christchurch Heritage Awards Charitable Trust Chair Dr Anna Crighton, a staunch heritage advocate who established the Trust explains; “the awards have evolved to better reflect the rapidly changing heritage landscape of Christchurch and Canterbury post-earthquakes. Buildings and spaces in the public realm, domestic dwellings and brand new builds for the future are all eligible to enter – encouragement for saving and restoring our historic heritage and character buildings identifies a vital aspect of where we have come from as a city and province.

“The popularity of these awards is reflected in the number of entries which continue to increase since the inaugural awards in 2010. We received over 70 entries in 2014 which shows that the devastating earthquakes have strengthened the resolve to treasure what heritage remains.”

The biennial Canterbury Heritage Awards recognise excellence in heritage retention and conservation, heritage tourism and future heritage within the public and private sector and promotes the values of best practice heritage retention and conservation to the wider community.

Dr Crighton said that the Awards offer promotional opportunities for organisations, companies and individuals; “entering the awards is a fantastic way for companies to promote their work to the heritage community and general public, along with offering an event for heritage enthusiasts to come together and celebrate our heritage.”

There are seven categories in 2016: Domestic – Saved and Restored, Future Heritage, Heritage Tourism, Outstanding Contribution to Heritage, Public Realm – Saved and Restored, Seismic and the Supreme Award for the overall winner. Previous supreme winners include Trinity Congregational Church and Christ’s College’s Harper and Julius Houses.

The Right Honourable Helen Clark, ONZ, currently head of the United Nations Development Programme, and former Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage continues as Patron of the Awards. The judging panel for 2016 is chaired by Dr Anna Crighton and includes Jenny May, Director of Heritage Management Services, Tim Nees Head of Engineering at University of Canterbury, Sheila Watson Heritage New Zealand General Manager, Southern Office and Grant Wilkinson Structural Engineer, Ruamoko Solutions. The Category Award Trophies and the Supreme Award Trophy are designed by prominent New Zealand sculptor Neil Dawson.

Entry forms are available to download at Organisations and individuals are also encouraged to contact the Award Convenors to nominate heritage projects or organisations. Award entries close on 5 April and the 2016 Heritage Awards Ceremony will be held in the Great Hall, Christchurch Arts Centre on 9 June.
Webdesign & Hosting by BECK & CAUL.