Become a Sponsor

Executive Summary

The Christchurch Heritage Awards Charitable Trust has been established to develop and deliver a quality and innovative programme of Heritage Awards.  The Canterbury Heritage Awards will recognise excellence in heritage retention and conservation, heritage tourism and heritage education within the public and private sector and will promote the values of best practice heritage retention and conservation to the wider community.

The inaugural Heritage Awards were launched in June 2010 with the first Awards Ceremony taking place in October 2010. The 2010 Awards focussed on nominations and entries from the Christchurch area.  The 2012 Awards covered parts of Canterbury for the first time. In 2014 the Award categories were revised to more closely align with the post-earthquake environment including the addition of a Heritage of the Future category.

In 2016 the awards will take another step up with a beautiful sit down occasion and awards ceremony at the Christchurch Arts Centre renovated Great Hall.

The Right Honourable Helen Clark, ONZ, currently head of the United Nations Development Programme is the Patron of the Canterbury Heritage Awards.  Neil Dawson, prominent New Zealand sculptor, was commissioned to design the Category Award Trophy and the Supreme Award Trophy.  The judging panel will be chaired by Dr Anna Crighton and include representatives from the New Zealand Institute of Architects (Canterbury Branch), Institute of Professional Engineers and architectural historians.

Funding for the Canterbury Heritage Awards is being sourced from grants and the establishment of a complementary family of sponsors who will have naming rights to an appropriate Award Category and also supporting sponsors.  The Trust will work collaboratively with existing heritage agencies and stakeholders and through its own marketing initiatives to ensure maximum exposure for the Awards, the Award finalists and recipients and the sponsors to the wider community.

If you wish to support the awards as sponsor please contact Geoff Bone on 0274 858 185 or email him at


To be a catalyst for encouraging the preservation of Christchurch and Canterbury’s cultural heritage.


To promote and celebrate heritage retention, conservation and education by recognising excellence through a quality and innovative awards programme, awards ceremony and lectures.

Award Categories

The Canterbury Heritage Awards Trust recognises the achievement of heritage conservation in the following categories:

1. Domestic – Saved and Restored – Sponsorship available

Retention and Restoration of domestic architecture more than 50 years old. Rehabilitation, adaptive reuse or continued maintenance are all eligible.

2. Public – Saved and Restored – Sponsored by Insight Limited

Retention and Restoration of a public or commercial building or structure more than 50 years old. Public realm is defined as any publicly owned streets, pathways, right of ways, parks, publicly accessible open spaces and any public and civic building and facilities. The quality of our public realm is vital if we are to be successful in creating environments that people want to live and work in.

3. Heritage Tourism Award – Sponsored by Continental Catering

Cultural tourist attraction award.  This includes cultural precincts, events and heritage destinations and attractions.

4. Outstanding Contribution to Heritage – sponsored by Heritage Management Services

The telling of the Canterbury/Christchurch story by an organisation, group or individual. Includes publications, education programmes, exhibitions, websites or activities that promote heritage retention, conservation and education.  Heritage advocacy.

5. Future Heritage Award – Sponsorship available

This award will recognise a new building showing sensitivity to the streetscape and one which will secure a cultural legacy for the future.

6. Seismic Award – sponsored by Ceres NZ

Recognition of commitment, investment or unique solution to earthquake strengthening which has saved or will now protect a heritage building.

7. Supreme Award – sponsored by Christchurch Heritage Trust

Judged by the panel of judges from the six award category winners.  The Champion of Heritage Champions.


Sponsor Benefits – Award Sponsor $6,750 + GST

  • Naming rights to the Award or Event chosen in all publicity
  • Brand recognition on trophy and certificates for that Award category
  • Sponsors trophy – your own Neil Dawson trophy acknowledging your support
  • Complimentary tickets for Awards Ceremony x 4
  • Opportunity to present your sponsored Award
  • Opportunity to have input into nominees for Award
  • Photo and media opportunities at the Awards Ceremony
  • Acknowledgement in media releases, prior to and post Awards
  • Online – acknowledgement, sponsor profile and link to your website
  • Entry Brochure – logo recognition, naming of Award category or Event
  • Signage at the Awards Ceremony
  • Awards Ceremony – acknowledgement on the programme, by the MC and on the AV presentation
  • Mailout – inclusion of one promotional item in media kits or database mailing
  • Media – recognition in the Canterbury Heritage Awards results feature in The Press.

This is a general overview of the key benefits available to Canterbury Heritage Awards sponsors. Benefits can be tailored to best suit your specific marketing objectives and we welcome the opportunity to meet with you to discuss these and to ensure that you receive maximum leverage from your investment in the Canterbury Heritage Awards.

Supporter – Investment $750 + GST

  • Complimentary tickets for Awards Ceremony x 2
  • Opportunity to put forward nominees for the Awards
  • Online – acknowledgement on
  • Awards Ceremony – acknowledgement on the programme, by the MC and on the AV presentation.

2014 Supporters

Bailies Bar and Restaurant, Beca, Canterbury Employers Chamber of Commerce, Cymon Allfrey Architects, Heritage Hotel Christchurch, Heritage Management Services, Heritage New Zealand, Leighs Constructi on, Neil Dawson Sculptor, PKF, TDM Events.

Official Media Partner