Please allow javascripts to see this page correctly
X close menu

The Judges

Andrew Coleman

Andrew Coleman is the Chief Executive of Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga, the lead national heritage agency in New Zealand.  He took up this position in October 2016.

Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga is an autonomous Crown entity. The organisation is responsible for heritage property listings, the regulatory practice of archaeological authorities and the management of 48 heritage properties across New Zealand.  Its work, powers and functions are defined by the Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act 2014.

Mr Coleman has held senior positions across government agencies for 20 years.  His previous roles include Chief Operations Officer for the Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), the acting Chief Executive and Deputy Chief Executive for the Ministry of Fisheries and the Operations Manager for the New Zealand Customs Service.  His previous 20 years were in roles with the New Zealand Police.

He has considerable experience in Government process and policy, proven leadership of a national organisations, success in implementing internal and external strategies and relationships, excellent business acumen and a proven record of delivering outcomes.

Ian Bowman

Ian Bowman, principal of his own firm formed in 1992, is an historian, architect and architectural conservator who specialises in all aspects of built heritage conservation.

He has 35 years combined architectural and conservation experience in England for Newman Levinson and Ptrs. and in New Zealand for Works Consultancy (now Opus) and his own practice. He also provided

conservation advice to the New South Wales Public Works Department in Newcastle after the 1990 earthquake.

He was made a Fellow of the NZIA for his services to conservation and the Institute. Ian has practices in Nelson and Wellington and works throughout New Zealand. Large-scale projects include the St James Theatre Wellington; Government Buildings, Government house and Premier House. He has also been involved with a large number of smaller scale projects for the Ministry for Culture and Heritage, the NZ Defence Department, the Department of Conservation and the New Zealand Historic Places Trust.

Ian has carried out heritage audits and inventories for City Councils around New Zealand, and has also completed many projects for the NZTA. He is the current National Committee Chairman and a founding member of ICOMOS New Zealand.

Tim Nees

Tim is an experienced and distinguished architect leading his own practice in Christchurch. He is a Fellow of the NZ Institute of Architects, a committee member of the NZIA Canterbury Branch, and last year convened the NZIA Local Canterbury Awards.

Before establishing his own practice in Wellington in 1993, Tim worked for Athfield Architects, gaining valuable experience and contributing to a wide range of buildings. He then established a joint architectural office and contemporary art gallery, New Work Studio, in Cuba Street, becoming well known for his highly crafted private homes and for his advocacy for some of NZ’s leading artists.

In 2013 he shifted his practice to Christchurch and was appointed Architect in Residence at the University of Canterbury in 2015, a part-time role teaching engineering students about architecture, integrated design, and creative collaboration. The expression and integration of structure with architecture, and building effective professional relationships, has always been of primary importance in his design approach.

Tim has won many awards for his buildings, including the NZIA National Award for Excellence in Architecture. His buildings can be found in many parts of New Zealand, from Central Otago to Kaiwaka, north of Auckland.


Jenny May

Jenny May ONZM BAHons Micomos is an architectural historian and independent heritage consultant. She is Director of Heritage Management Services Limited.  Post the 2011 earthquake she was the principal heritage consultant to the Council’s heritage earthquake recovery team for four years.

Over the years Jenny has been involved in a number of Trusts and Boards including the Arts Centre of Christchurch Trust Board, the Arts Council – Creative New Zealand, the Board of Te Papa Tongarewa and is currently a trustee of the Christchurch Symphony Orchestra Foundation, the ChristChurch Cathedral Choir Education Trust, the Ravenscar Trust and SCAPE Public Art.

She has written a number of articles on heritage and been a contributing author to several publications including Remembering Godley, Long Live the Modern: New Zealand’s New Architecture 1904-1984 and Colonial Gothic to Maori Renaissance Essays in Memory of Jonathan Mane Wheoki..

She received the ONZM in the 2007 New Year’s Honours for her work in governance and heritage.

Webdesign & Hosting by BECK & CAUL.